“Every new development in cancer research requires a lot of courage and patience”

Dr. Ben J. Lipps, CEO

Dr Ben J. Lipps was appointed to the Board of MagForce AG in September 2013. Between May 1999 and December 2012 he was Chairman of the Board for Fresenius Medical Care. During his time at Fresenius Medical Care, the corporation tripled its turnover from $3.8 billion (USD) to $12.8 billion, while annual net profit increased six-fold to $1.1 billion. Apart from his chairmanship, Dr Lipps was also the Chairman of the Board for Fresenius Medical Care North America until February 2004. From October 1989 to February 2004, he was President, Chief Executive Officer, Chief Operating Officer and Director at Fresenius USA and served in various capacities with the company’s predecessor between 1985 and 1989. Before Dr Lipps joined the Fresenius Group in 1985, he held several research management positions in various companies, including DOW Chemical.

His academic career includes postgraduate and doctoral degrees in chemical engineering at MIT (Massachusetts Institute of Technology).

Prof. Dr. Hoda Tawfik, Chief Medical Officer

Prof Hoda Tawfik joined MagForce AG as Vice President R&D/Medical Affairs in May 2011 and was appointed to the Board in October 2012. She has over 20 years of experience in clinical development and medical affairs in both CRO (contract research organisations) and the pharma/biotech industry. Before joining MagForce, she worked at Medigene AG where she was Head of Clinical Operations and Medical Affairs for nine years.

Hoda Tawfik completed her pharmacy studies at the University of Cairo, and subsequently obtained her PhD in pharmacology and toxicology at the University of Düsseldorf. She then worked in pharmacological research at the universities of Cairo, Heidelberg, and Munich. In addition she held the post of Professor of Pharmacology at the University of Cairo.

Christian von Volkmann, CFO

Christian von Volkmann has been supporting MagForce since May 2012 and as a Member the Board since October 2012. He has more than 15 years of experience in corporate finance/capital market transactions, group structuring, and mergers and acquisitions (M&A). From 2004 to 2010, he held various positions at Jerini AG, most recently as Chief Financial Officer. Amongst his responsibility in this capacity lay the squeeze-out of the minority shareholders and the integration of the Jerini Group into the Shire Group, as well as the spin-off and divestment of business units. From 2010 to 2012, owning CMaP Financial Consulting, Christian von Volkmann advised companies across Europe in disclosure and stock exchange listing requirements as well as in operational management execution.

After his Diploma in business administration at the University of Wuerzburg, he was employed from 1998 to 2004 with Ernst & Young auditors. In 1998 he passed the examination as a Certified Public Accountant in the USA.

Compliant with European Standard

„Jede Neuentwicklung in der Krebsforschung verlangt viel Mut und Geduld“

Dr. Ben J. Lipps, CEO

Dr. Ben J. Lipps wurde im September 2013 in den Vorstand der MagForce AG berufen. Er war zwischen Mai 1999 und Dezember 2012 Vorstandsvorsitzender von Fresenius Medical Care. Während seiner Zeit bei Fresenius Medical Care hat das Unternehmen seinen Umsatz von 3,8 Mrd. USD auf 12,8 Mrd. USD verdreifacht, der Jahresüberschuss hat sich auf 1,1 Mrd. USD versechsfacht. Neben seinem Vorstandsvorsitz war Dr. Lipps bis Februar 2004 Vorstandsvorsitzender von Fresenius Medical Care Nordamerika. Von Oktober 1989 bis Februar 2004 war er Präsident, Chief Executive Officer, Chief Operating Officer und Direktor bei Fresenius USA und arbeitete dort von 1985 bis 1989 in verschiedenen Funktionen mit seinem Vorgänger zusammen. Bevor Dr. Lipps 1985 zum Fresenius-Konzern kam, hatte er verschiedene Managementpositionen in der Forschung von unterschiedlichen Unternehmen inne, unter anderem bei DOW Chemical.

Seine akademische Laufbahn umfasst einen Master und eine Promotion am MIT (Massachusetts Institute of Technology) im Bereich Chemieingenieurwesen.

Prof. Dr. Hoda Tawfik, Chief Medical Officer

Prof. Dr. Hoda Tawfik trat im Mai 2011 als Vice President R&D/Medical Affairs bei der MagForce AG ein und wurde im Oktober 2012 in den Vorstand berufen. Sie verfügt über mehr als 20 Jahre Erfahrung auf dem Gebiet der klinischen Entwicklung und Medical Affairs sowohl im CRO- (Contract Research Organization, Anbieter für Auftragsforschung) als auch im Pharma/Biotech-Bereich. Zuletzt war sie bei der Medigene AG tätig, wo sie neun Jahre lang Leiterin der Clinical Operations und Medical Affairs war.

Hoda Tawfik schloss ihr Studium der Pharmazie an der Universität Kairo ab, promovierte anschließend im Bereich Pharmakologie und Toxikologie an der Universität Düsseldorf und arbeitete danach weiter in der pharmakologischen Forschung an den Universitäten Kairo, Heidelberg und München. Zusätzlich war sie als Professorin für Pharmakologie an der Universität Kairo tätig.

Christian von Volkmann, CFO

Christian von Volkmann begleitet MagForce seit Mai 2012 und ab Oktober 2012 als Vorstand. Er verfügt über mehr als 15 Jahre Erfahrung in den Bereichen Unternehmensfinanzierung / Kapitalmarkttransaktionen, Konzernstrukturierung und Unternehmenstransaktionen (M&A). Von 2004 bis 2010 war er in verschiedenen Positionen bei der Jerini AG tätig, zuletzt als Finanzvorstand. Er verantwortete unter anderem den Squeeze-out der Minderheitsaktionäre und die Integration der Jerini Gruppe in den Shire Konzern, sowie die Ausgründung und den Verkauf von Unternehmensteilen. Von 2010 bis 2012 beriet er als Inhaber die CMaP Financial Consulting europaweit Unternehmen im Bereich der gesetzlichen Publizitäts- und Börsenzulassungsfolgepflichten sowie in der operativen Betriebsführung.

Der Diplom-Kaufman war nach dem Studium der Betriebswirtschaftslehre in Würzburg von 1998 bis 2004 bei der Wirtschaftsprüfungsgesellschaft Ernst & Young tätig. Darüber hinaus legte er die Prüfung als Certified Public Accountant 1998 in den USA ab.